Guest Speakers

Lee Johnson Revised

Lee Johnson


Serves as the Chief Executive Officer for the Texas Council of Community Centers, a state association that represents the 39 community centers of Texas. In this role, Johnson leads legislative strategy, appropriations issues, strategic communications, public policy development and implementation. Prior to joining the Texas Council, he served as legislative director for a state representative and, in the private sector, managed the urban and land use planning efforts of a commercial development firm in Austin, Texas, engaging county and city officials across the state. Johnson holds undergraduate and master’s degrees in public administration and political science from Texas State University.

Andy Keller Revised

Andy Keller


President, Chief Executive Officer, and Linda Perryman Evans Presidential Chair of the Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute, a Texas-based nonprofit that provides nonpartisan policy and program research, development, and advice to local, state, and national leaders towards a single goal: improving mental health care delivery in Texas and across the country.

Andy is a clinical and community psychologist with more than 25 years of experience in behavioral health policy, financing, and best practices. His work has centered on helping federal, state, and local health systems implement evidence-based and innovative care, as well as helping federal, state, and governments develop the regulatory and financial frameworks to support them.

Prior to moving full time into policy work, Andy was a managing partner for 15 years at a national behavioral health management consulting firm where he focused on health financing and system improvement. Before that, he worked in Colorado with a leading Medicaid HMO and the local community mental health system, where he directed and led a range of community-based and care management programs.


Cheryl McCullumsmith


Dr. McCullumsmith received her MD and PhD degrees and completed her residency in Psychiatry at the University of Michigan. She is a board certified subspecialist in consult-liaison psychiatry and a fellow in the Academy of Consult-Liaison Psychiatry. She has published over 40 papers and book chapters with a total of almost 1400 citations. She has been an invited speaker for the National Network of Depression Centers conference and the Association of Consult-Liaison Psychiatry as well as a Presidential Speaker at the American Psychiatric Association. Her work focusses on providing systems of psychiatric care that work, especially on the prevention of death by suicide. She currently serves with pride as the Robert M Rogers Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the University of Texas at Tyler.

Thank you.
We are making it happen... together.

Thank you, stakeholders, for your support of the jail diversion initiative: The Arc of Smith County, Building Bridges: Advocacy & Educational Counseling, ETMC Foundation, East Texas Veterans Community Council, Family Circle of Care, Mosaic Counseling Center of East Texas, NAMI, Northeast Texas Public Health District, Solace Counseling and Anxiety Center, The Salvation Army, Smith County Clubhouse, and offices from East Texas area cities and counties.